Technical Tour

The School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering (SEEE) of HUST was founded in 1952. In all previous first-level discipline evaluation by the Ministry of Education, the rank of electrical engineering discipline of this school is always among the top three in China. In 2017, it was selected as one of the first batch of “double first-class” construction disciplines by the country. The school has established Department of Electrical and Control Engineering, Department of Electrical Power Engineering, Department of High Voltage Engineering, Department of Applied Electronic Engineering, Department of Electrician Theory and Advanced Electromagnetic Technology, Institute of Fusion and Plasma, Institute of Applied Electromagnetic Engineering, National Electrical and Electronic Experimental Teaching Demonstration Center (Electrical), and National Electrical Electronic Engineering Basic Course Teaching Base (Electrical).


The main research directions of the school cover the entire process of production, transmission, application, transformation, detection, control, dispatching and management of electric energy. Moreover, it has also developed numbers of new frontier disciplines, such as electrical energy storage, pulse power, pulsed magnetic fields, magnetic confinement fusion, plasma medicine, accelerators and their applications, advanced electrical materials and devices, which have formed the widest range of electrical engineering disciplines in domestic research.


The State Key Laboratory of Advanced Electromagnetic Engineering and Technology was established on the basis of "Key Laboratory of Fusion and New Electromagnetic Technology of Ministry of Education", and integrating the advantageous direction and team of "Key Laboratory of Electric Power Safety and Efficiency of Hubei Province". The main research interests of the laboratory include electromagnetic characteristics analysis theory and method, high electromagnetic parameter cell technology, and complex electromagnetic system optimization and control. The research results can be used for the important needs of national economy such as energy and transportation and scientific research equipment such as high magnetic field nuclear fusion. The laboratory has one of the four sets in China and the only medium tokamak experimental equipment in universities. It is the affiliated unit of magnetic confinement fusion research center of the Ministry of Education. In 2011 and 2012, the peak magnetic field reached 83 T and 86.3 T respectively, both ranking first in Asia and third in the world at that time.


The Wuhan National High Magnetic Field Center (WHMFC) is a national research institute based on one of the twelve National Major Science and Technology Infrastructure Projects funded by the Chinese National Development and Reformation Committee. Three kinds of power system, including a 25.6 MJ capacitor bank consisting of 24 modules of 1 MJ each and 2 modules of 800 kJ each, a 100 MJ / 100 MVA , and a 1000 V lead-acid battery have been built in order to generate pulsed magnetic fields with peak field ranging from 50 T to 90.6 T (highest in Asia, third highest in the world). Eight experimental stations for studying electrical transport, magnetic properties, magneto-optics and electron spin resonance (ESR) can be used in parallel, equipment such as low temperature cryostats (from 50 mK to 400 K), high pressure cells and various lasers with associated optical systems has been installed. This provides an outstanding research tool and high-level research opportunities in the research areas of physics, chemistry, life science and materials science for the scientific communities in China and abroad. An experienced in-house staff provides the necessary assistance to researchers from China and all over the world. Alongside the national laboratories at Los Alamos, Dresden, Tokyo and Toulouse, it has become one of the world's five major scientific centers providing strong pulsed magnetic fields for scientific research and practical applications.